Wednesday, 23 January 2013

Reaction won the 2012 Governor’s Cup Race

Reaction and her crew Tiens Groenwald, CornĂ© Groenewald, Ruaan Groenewald and Nicky Basson won the 2012 Governor’s Cup yacht race from Simonstown to St Helena island. She was overall winner, winner on handicap, made line honours in the keelboat class and arrived 3rd of all boats. (multihulls and monohulls).  

The start was slow with little wind mainly from the NW during the first 4 days. After that we found the trades on a more easterly course,  we hoisted the spinnaker and enjoyed a fabulous sail all the way to the island. Our best distance covered during a 24 hour period was 186 nm with a max speed of 17.8 knots. We covered the total distance in 11 days and 23 hours.